



Welcome to the Gordon Stone Lecture and Symposium 2022



Professor Charl F J Faul
Head, Inorganic & Materials
Chemistry

The Gordon Stone Lecture was established in 1991 to recognise Gordon's many distinguished contributions to inorganic and organometallic chemistry, and the part he played in establishing Bristol as a major centre for teaching and research in inorganic chemistry. A list of the distinguished speakers who have given this lecture can be found on the back of this leaflet.

This year, the Gordon Stone lecture will be given by Professor Kyoko Nozaki who has been Professor of Chemistry and Bioengineering at The University of Tokyo since 2002. Her research covers a wide range of organic, inorganic, and polymer chemistry, especially focusing on catalyst development. Her achievements have been recognized by several prestigious awards and honours, including the Loréal-UNESCO Women in Science Award in 2021 and Medal with Purple Ribbon in 2022. She has been an International Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences since 2021.

In addition to the Gordon Stone Lecture, this year we have an outstanding accompanying symposium with contributions from colleagues from universities in Cardiff, Oxford and Belfast. We trust that these contributions will highlight the exciting current developments in inorganic and organometallic chemistry.

SCHOOL OF CHEMISTRY

PROGRAMME

13:45

Introduction

14:00

Professor Duncan Wass

Cardiff University, UK
New Directions in Guerbet Catalysis

14:30

Professor Jose Goicoechea

University of Oxford, UK
The Cyaphide Ion: A New Building Block
for Chemical Synthesis

15:00

Professor Stuart James

Queen's University, Belfast, UK Porous Liquids and Mechanochemical Solvent-free Synthesis

15:30

Tea break

16:00

2022 Gordon Stone Lecture Professor Kyoko Nozaki

University of Tokyo, Japan Late transition metal catalysts for polymer synthesis and polymer degradation

17:00

Closing remarks followed by a reception in the East Foyer

Previous Gordon Stone Lecturers

1991	FA Cotton	2006	MLH Green
1992	R Hoffmann	2007	AH Cowley
1993	Lord Lewis	2008	RH Grubbs
1994	G Wilke	2009	MH Chisholm
1995	Sir G Wilkinson	2011	I Manners
1996	FGA Stone	2012	K Müllen
1997	LF Dahl	2013	G Bertrand
1999	EW Abel	2014	M Brookhart
2000	H Schmidbaur	2015	T Marks
2001	PM Maitlis	2016	O Eisenstein
2002	AG MacDiarmid	2017	D Milstein
2003	WR Roper	2018	M Beller
2004	H Werner	2019	B Feringa
2005	JE Bercaw		



